Student Council

What is Student Council?

The Student Council is made up of 50 students who discuss and vote on UL Student Life policy. As the representative group of all UL students they direct Executive on what work to carry out. Council meets every second Tuesday at 6pm.

Council members are UL students, 25 are elected Department Representatives for each of UL’s academic departments, and 15 are Interest Group Representatives with particular responsibility for specific student life and welfare areas. The 11 Executive members attend Council. Only the volunteer Executive members have a vote. The President, Welfare and Academic student officers do not have a vote.

Next Student Council Agenda:  Student Council Agenda 13th November 2018 (22 downloads)

A list of all positions on the Student Council is available in the Student Representation Handbook

Further Information and Nomination Form

If you’d like more information about becoming a Student Council member download our ‘Student Representation Handbook’ 

Student Representation Handbook (107 downloads)

Ready to take the plunge? Download the ‘Student Council Nomination Form’  Interest Group Rep Nomination Form 2018/2019 (37 downloads)   Department Rep Nomination Form 2018/2019-1 (31 downloads)

Or pick up a nomination form the Student Centre, fill out the form and make sure to hand it back into the Student Centre, at either reception or into the Leadership and Representation office.

Department Reps: Get your form signed by 10 proposers and 20 seconders from your Department.

Interest Group Reps: Get your form signed by any 10 proposers and 20 seconders.

Faculty Reps: They are elected from sitting department reps on Student Council

Nominations open week 6 in Semester 2 and roll over until all the positions are filled.

Current Student Council Vacancies

PESS Department Rep

1st Year Rep

Irish World Academy Department Rep

History Department Rep

Entertainment Councillor

Campus Facilities Councillor

Sociology Department Rep

Equal Opportunities Councillor

Mature Student Councillor

Disabilities Councillor

Politics & Public Administration Department Rep

Clinical Therapies Department Rep

School of Design Department Rep

School of Education Department Rep

What-is-the-Role-of-the-UL-Student-Experience-Chairperson.pdf (2 downloads) What-is-the-Role-of-the-Chairperson-of-Student-Council-1.pdf (1 download)

If you are interested in any of the vacant positions please contact:

Arts Humanities & Social Science Contact
History Vacant
Irish World Academy of Music & Dance Vacant
Modern Languages and Applied Linguistics Orlaith Fitzgerald
Culture & Communication Yash Sanghvi
Law Criostoir Hasty (Faculty Rep)
Politics & Public Administration Vacant
Sociology Vacant
Kemmy Business School Contact
Accounting & Finance Elizabeth Small (Faculty Rep)
Economics Tadhg McSwiney
Management & Marketing M.Kalyan Chakravarthy
Personnel & Employment Resources John Caulfield
Education & Health Science Contact
PESS Vacant
Psychology Cassidy Mahon (Faculty Rep)
GEMS Favour Olufemi-Ojo
School of Education Vacant
Nursing & Midwifery Anthony Mullins
Clinical Therapies Vacant
Science & Engineering Contact
School of Design Vacant
School of Engineering Raghav Nayyar
Department Computer Science & Information Systems Grace Bevan Molloy (Faculty Rep)
SNS1b Department of Chemical Sciences Aaron O’Sullivan
Department of Electronic & Computer Engineering Joey Corbett
Department of Biological Sciences Shola Koschan
Department of Mathematics and Statistics Ole Rasmussen
Department of Physics Glen Kiely

Interest Group Representatives

Recreation Interest Group – Chaired by Jessica Dino Contact
Sports Councillor Jyotindra Swaroop
Activities Councillor Gabriel Denys
Entertainments Councillor Vacant
Equal Opportunities Interest Group – Chaired by Niamh Tubridy Contact
Equal Opportunities Councillor Vacant
Mature Student Councillor Vacant
Disabilities Councillor Vacant
LGBTQI Councillor Alena Kiel
Home International Councillor Ferdinand Onyekpeze
Visiting International Councillor Abiola Abraham Agboola
UL Experience Interest Group – Chaired by Liam Gleeson  Contact
1st Year Councillor Vacant
Campus Facilities Councillor Vacant
Student Services Councillor Rachna Rajendran
Community Councillor Amee O’Connor Berkery
UL Environmental Councillor Garima Jaiswal
Cooperative Education Councillor Tamsen Larkin
Volunteering Councillor Ben Dunne